If you want an escape from everyday life, pet friendly Mountain Laurel offers a peaceful retreat only a few minutes from Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. But don't worry that you'll have nothing to do--this cabin is filled with fun! 60" flat screen TV theatre room with sound bar and 4 red leather stadium-style recliners are just the beginning. Hot tub for 4 off the private rear deck that looks out to the woods--and not the neighbors. Pool table in the loft. Remember PacMan, Frogger and Space Invaders? Time travel to the 70s and 80s with these vintage arcade games and more with the Multi-cade game table in the theatre room. Cook out on the charcoal grill and enjoy a relaxing dinner at the cabin. A main floor queen log bedroom provides easy one-floor-living if someone in your party has difficulty with stairs. The master bedroom is on the lower level and includes an in-room corner jacuzzi tub, fireplace, TV and large bathroom with spacious walk-in shower.
Mountain Laurel is filled with charm and creature comforts. The owners, Tony and Sherry, welcome you to enjoy their cabin and make it your new getaway in the Smoky Mountains!
Mountain Laurel welcomes small dogs 25 pounds or less. The pet stay fee is $95.00 plus tax. Your dog must be crated while you're are away from the cabin. Pet stays require advance approval and we'll need your pets name, age, weight and breed to add to the lease information.
- Ceiling Fans
- Pool Table
- Sofa Bed
- Central Air
- Vaulted Ceilings
- Coffee Maker
- Can Opener
- BBQ Grill
- Hot Tub
- Enclosed Porch
- Private Parking
- Gated Community
- Porch Furniture
- Ironing Board
- Square feet (1500)
- floors (3)
- Pet Friendly
- Wildlife Viewing
ReviewsJIm U. - 07/20/2016
I think the cabin itself and the things it has to offer is great. But I have to say I was a bit grossed out by the cleanliness. At first glance it appeared very clean, but as soon as you walked in the bathrooms you can smell the old towels and linens. They had that smell that towels get when they get old or you leave them wet too long before drying them...very musky. Some people live that way. You can smell it on their clothes. I personally hate that smell. You could also smell it in the sheets and comforters. We tried to wash them, but you could still smell it in the towels. We ended up going to Walmart and bought new towels. When we pulled the sheets off the bed to wash them, we were even more grossed out. The mattress was disgusting. I don't like to think about the people who have slept there before me or what they did, but it's worse when you see the stains. I don't know how old those mattresses are, but they should be replaced and protected with a liner. This is a dog friendly cabin. We brought our two little dogs. All they did was sniff the carpet and furniture. This led me to believe that many pets before us probably peed on both. The sofas did not look so great. I never walked around in my bare feet and I never sat on those sofas. Everything in the kitchen seemed clean but at this point we prewashed everything. I picked this cabin for its size and amenities. Unfortunately we didn't use any fireplaces because it was summer. We didn't have enough time to use the hot tub. I played a few games on the arcade game, but the joy stick had some issues going right. They supply a small selection of movies for the theater room, which is cool, but we couldn't get any of the remotes to work the DVD player. It came on, but nothing would make the movie play. No complaints about the pool table. Some other minor things were a florescent bulb in the kitchen kept going out. The frig got warm at some point, but then got cold again. And we had some difficulties locking the place. You had to get the door exactly lined up correctly for the deadbolt to hit the hole in the door jam. If you don't check it, you could think it's locked but the door pushes open. This could be a great place, but I think they need to replace all the linens and do a better job cleaning them, replace all the mattresses and protect them, and being dog friendly, I think it should have leather couches and no carpet. I think wood and tile floors with throw rugs would be much better.
Manager response: Hi Jim, thanks for your detailed review. Though it's disappointing to read that you found several things not to your satisfaction, we will certainly consider all your points. My only wish is that you would have let me know during your stay so we could have taken care of easily fixable items like the kitchen light, DVD player, keyless entry and towels. Update: the owners have replaced the furniture with a new sleeper sofa and two recliners. We'll take new photos soon to show you the updates. 75% of our guests at this cabin do not bring pets, so it does not get as much wear and tear from dogs as the "pet friendly" designation might imply. When I was there two weeks ago, the cabin did not smell musty, but it definitely has the typical cabin scent that is common with a wood interior. Cabins tend to smell very different than homes with drywall construction. The housekeeper discovered the burned-out fluorescent bulb after your departure on Sunday the 17th. Fortunately, we were able to get replacement bulbs installed just before the new guests arrived at 4 p.m. The owners have purchased new towels. We will also re-inspect the mattresses and carpet when they are here. Thank you for alerting me to the joystick on the video game table needing adjustment so we can look into it.Brandi S. - 05/10/2016
We really enjoyed our stay at Mountain Laurel. It was cozy and clean and had everything we needed and more. We loved the theater room and our 3 year old loved the arcade games and the pool table loft. We saw a momma bear and her 2 cubs one evening right in front of the cabin on our way back from dinner. I would definitely recommend this cabin. Amy was great to work with!
Manager response: Hi Brandi and thanks for your review! That's the first I've heard of any bears in the area at Mountain Laurel. It's Spring and the mama bears are bringing out their young in search of food so it really isn't unusual but the first I've heard of them here! Those cubs can be quite entertaining--from a distance 😉 Im happy you had a great vacation and enjoyed the cabin. Please come again!Anonymous - 05/01/2016
We loved staying at Mountain Laurel. Everything was as listed and even better. The setting and proximity to the Park and to town was just perfect. We would definitely stay there again if we ever come back to Tennessee. Wonderful and peaceful vacation. Thank You!
Manager response: Wow, thank you for letting us know we exceeded your expectations. That's the best we could hope for from any guest stay! I'm happy to know you had a peaceful, relaxing vacation. If you ever come back to the Smokies, we'll be here for you!Dave G. - 04/25/2016
This cabin was no doubt the cleanest and most well stocked cabin we have ever stayed in. We simply loved it! The customer service (thanks Amy) was professional, prompt, and a pleasure to work with! Thank you for a wonderful vacation and will definitely be talking to you again.
Manager response: Dave, what a sweet review. Loved hearing that you found Mountain Laurel to be one of the best cabins you've ever stayed in. That's a supreme compliment. And thank you for the customer service kudos, too. I appreciate that! Please come again anytime.Kcee H. - 04/15/2016
Our family was very happy with this cabin. We had as much fun at the cabin as we did while we were out. The renting process was a breeze and though we didn't really need any extra assistance, the property manager was always nice and quick to respond to any questions we had. On arrival the cabin was perfectly clean and ready for us. There were notes posted in places to make it easy to work different things around the house. We had no issues during our stay. The house had everything we would need and then some! Plenty of extra sheets, blankets and pillows. I even noticed a high chair, potty seat, extra fans, and flashlights in the closets. We loved the theater room, pool table, hot tub, and arcade game so much! While we were out in town my 5 year old son would beg to go back to the cabin! My husband brought his Xbox from home so he and my son loved playing video games in theater seats and now he's dreaming of a theater room at our house lol. The only things I would change if possible would be to have the ability to stream movies in the theater room but it's the mountains so I'm not sure if you can change that. And also I would have brought a couple beach towels from home so i wouldn't have had to use our bath towels to dry off after the hot tub. We had plenty except when the kids used them all up from frequent hot tub trips and them not air drying as quickly as beach towels would. We had a great stay here and I highly recommend this cabin. It really doesn't get much better than this place! Thanks for a great experience!
Manager response: Hi Kcee and thank you for the great review. It's heartwarming to hear that you had a great vacation and the cabin was such a hit. We're all about the guest experience and nothing is more rewarding to know that we did a good job. (If you only knew how much we sweat the details sometimes LOL) You're right--we are very limited on our internet service options. I wish we could offer the unlimited bandwidth cable-type internet but until they bring the lines up the mountain, we have to use the next best thing which is the Dish Network service. The internet itself is fine, it's the measured service that makes it a bit challenging. If that ever changes, I'll be shouting it from the mountain tops LOL Thanks for sharing your experience and I hope you'll be back again someday!1 2 3 4 5 6 7